the death of chris evans

How to die and love it

Not literally. Figuratively.

Old me died.

The fact is, old versions of ourselves are passing away. Literally and figuratively.

Here are some interesting facts about the body:

  • Skin cells: The outer layer of your skin (epidermis) completely regenerates approximately every 27 days.

  • Red blood cells: These cells, which carry oxygen throughout the body, live for about 120 days before being replaced.

  • Gut lining: The cells in the stomach and intestines regenerate very quickly, with a new lining every 2 to 5 days.

  • Liver cells: The liver has an impressive regenerative capacity and can regrow even if a portion is removed. Liver cells are replaced about every 300 to 500 days.

  • Bone cells: Bone is also constantly being broken down and rebuilt. The entire skeleton is renewed approximately every 10 years.

So much in our life is always dying. Yet, we expect and try to keep so much the same.

We don’t live in a fixed world, and that’s not the nature of things, so why do we try to keep things the same?

It comes down to our desire to control as much as we can. If we can control them, we’ll feel safe and secure.

However, death is good. It is painful. For the sake of this email, let’s call it reinvention.

Reinvention in life and business is necessary, even though it can be terrifying. It means we have to let go of things.

I remember going through this in my business. Knowing things weren’t going in the direction that I wanted them to go, it was scary, but deep down, I knew I needed it and even wanted it.

Right now, many people (and businesses) need reinvention. They’re holding on to the old for dear life.

Unfortunately, it doesn’t serve them as they think it will

Death happens no matter what we want. Nothing remains the same. We can either fight it or embrace it.

If you want to embrace the process of a certain death, I’ve put together a few thoughts for you to consider.

How to reinvent yourself:

1. Let go of the old

What are the things you feel like you’re grasping onto? Here’s how to know if you should let go…

  • They require more energy than you have to keep

  • They don’t give you life and energy

  • They’re taking your peace and joy

Here’s why it’s hard to let go of the old things, and if you find yourself saying any of these, it’s a sign to consider…

  • you “should”

  • you “have to”

  • out of guilt

  • out of shame

  • you invested time, money, resources, and emotions

I write these because I know it’s not easy to let go of old things, and these are things I have gone through.

The fact is we’re constantly changing.

Ask, “is this thing still serving me in this stage of life or business I’m in?”

-let go of guilt and shame about "things not working out."

-things not working out are all a matter of perspective

Zooming out far enough, no failure is too significant and unrecoverable. Let that soak in.

2. Identify what you want as new

What does the “new you” want?

Start with these questions:

  • Who am I? This is BIG. You’re not your old business, product, service, relationship, or whatever.

  • What are your values?

  • What are your interests?

  • What are your needs?

  • What am I doing with my time?

These are great questions to ask when starting the process of reinventing yourself.

3. Develop the right skills

Reinvention most likely will require a new set of skills. That’s a fantastic thing. It might feel scary.

In the context of where you want to go in life and business, it will require new or redeveloping old skills. I find myself in this place.

I’m learning and relearning a lot. Initially, it felt scary, but I had so much fun with it. I’ve decided to allow myself to take all the pressure off.

4. Start small

“Reinvention” isn’t an overnight change. It’s a process that takes time but does require action.

If you find yourself immovable or in the dark night of the soul, start. Don’t overthink it.

When I left my business after extreme burnout, I didn’t touch my laptop for quite some time. So I get it.

Start with what interests you.

5. Be kind and gracious to yourself

It’s easy to criticize and judge ourselves. That shows up for me.

I’m much better at silencing that voice and allowing kindness and grace to flow.

Allow yourself the time it takes to let this process develop.

Reinvention as a process.

Knowing that most things aren’t fixed, we can find value in death and reinvention in our lives.

If we value “killing off” and are always looking for the new to “regenerate,” I think we can fall in love with that process because that process brings life.

Death brings life. Death isn’t final.

Reinvention is a form of innovation. It's connecting and integrating new and old ideas. Instead of fearing loss in death, maybe consider the benefits of a new life that will be birthed.

So with this, what would our lives and businesses look like if we took reinvention and made it a process?

How did this week’s letter hit for you?

Let me know your thoughts!

Much love,

C

How Would You Rate This Email?

I want to hear from you ;) Just click below.

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Reply

or to participate.