What is a good steward?

New way to live

It was December 2020.

I was sitting in a dimly lit restaurant in Charlotte, NC. Tapas was the choice for dinner. Red-sauced meatballs, patatas bravas, charcuterie, and broccolini, among other morsels of goodness. đŸ€€

We were nestled in a small booth with some of our closest friends in the corner. A couple my wife and I have known since before we were married (over 21 years).

The conversation was delightful.

Until we get to the topic of my businesses and how the year went.

“Chris, how was the year business-wise?”

“Meh, I’d rate it a 3 or 4 out of 10.”

“Huh? Didn’t you say it’s been your best year yet?”

As a matter of fact, it was.

I grew my second 8-figure business within that year, my income tripled, I had a thriving real estate investing business and a great team, and my business just had an incredible valuation.

[BREAK]

In my last letter, I announced the direction I’m taking things with The Good Steward.

(If you’re new to the community, read about it here. And welcome! 👋)

After growing several seven and 8-figure brands, accomplishing “mountain top” experiences and crashing. Ohhh, and putting my trauma on public display (😆), I feel a different conversation needs to be had.

Every one of us adheres to a set of value systems.

The value system of the majority?

More.
Faster.
Higher.
Better. 
Consumption.

I don’t know about you, but it was a constant thing that I couldn’t ever escape. Maybe I’m just crazy? That’s possible.

It. Could. Never. Be. Satisfied.

I’ve had many conversations with successful entrepreneurs, and it seems the same.

It’s never enough. Ever.

That’s how I felt in that restaurant, chewing on that delicious potato. My friends looked at me like I was crazy.

I was at the “top.”

It didn’t matter because, in my mind, it wasn’t good enough.

No matter how many levels, millions, planes, or accomplishments were achieved.

There was always more. There wasn’t an ounce of contentment, very little joy, and not much peace.

It was a form of slavery.
Slavery to a value system.
Slavery to what people think.
Slavery to more.
Slavery to higher highs.
Slavery to a culture of consumption.
Slavery to money.
Slavery to false identity.
Slavery to the rat race.

We think (as entrepreneurs) we control so much. The truth is we don’t control much. Think about it. We are the ones controlled. To me, that’s slavery.

What’s the alternative?

Stewardship.

Why?

As a steward, everything I have is a gift, and it’s borrowed. There is very little I actually need to thrive.

Stewardship is freedom. Stewardship is knowing that I have enough. Stewardship is profound abundance. Stewardship is care and nurturing for what’s been given to me. Stewardship is the ability to care and pour into others.

Stewardship is giving, and from that place, knowing that I can give of what I have IS freedom.

In our entrepreneurial community, so much of what we do and how we operate is based on taking.

Why?

Because I don’t have enough, it’s never enough, so I need to get mine while I can.

I think that’s what I felt in that restaurant. Slavery to more.

What is a Good Steward?

To me, a good steward doesn’t live in lack.

Because of that, there is a fullness of life that no new car, new house, new course, new “level” new ____________ can fill.

A good steward understands everything they have is a gift.

A good steward gives.
A good steward isn’t in a hurry.
A good steward is intentional.
A good steward is a leader.
A good steward is a creator.
A good steward operates from courage, not fear.
A good steward lives from abundance, not scarcity.
A good steward serves.
A good steward prioritizes personal health.
A good steward prioritizes familial health.
A good steward plants, cultivates, and harvests.
A good steward cares.
A good steward leans in.
A good steward operates from margin.
A good steward walks in peace and joy.

There are many more things a good steward is. One of them is not perfect. And that’s okay.

Stewardship is an alternative to our modern culture's constant hustle and hurry. It’s saying no to the culture of acquisitiveness.

Good things take time. It’s not easy.

But as I’ve been unearthing this concept over the last many months, I’ve never felt more significant levels of peace.

I want to invite you to this with me.

Takeaway: think about what this could mean for you. What applies? If anything resonates, lean in.

My goal will be to develop this from philosophy to frameworks so that it can apply to you. If you have feedback or thoughts, I’d love to hear them.

Thanks for being patient as I develop this.

In your corner,

Chris

How Would You Rate This Email?

I want to hear from you ;) Just click below.

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.




Join the conversation

or to participate.