I'm uncomfortable

And it's GOOD

Early August 2022, I found myself in a daze. Somewhere in the mountains of East Tennessee, I was floating down a river (on a tube). Recently leaving the business, I was exhausted and emotionally spent. Physically broken.

As a family, we decided to head to the mountains for some R&R.

I can picture where I was on that river when I thought, “Maybe it’s just best to let go.” Of course, the river was a great symbol. Have you ever tried to control your movement in a river? It’s ALL force.

So, I’m learning how to give up control. I’m learning to “let life flow.”

The more I look back…

The more I look around, the more I realize how obsessed we are; I was, I am, with control.

I’ve tried to control pretty much everything in my life.

Success is all about controlling where we go and how we get there.

We try to control our income, image, outcomes, other people, and the air temperature. 😆 

So here I am, deciding to let go of what I shouldn’t or can’t control. And It’s not comfortable. You’re looking at a guy who controlled his way to a $70MM business portfolio.

I looked at the outcome I wanted and engineered it.

However, control (as I know it) is exhausting and not sustainable (or enjoyable).

We want to be safe, secure (and comfortable). That’s why we control. Well, that’s why I’ve controlled.

Control is an illusion that we’re powerful.

And power in our society is the ultimate attainment. I also see control as force.

Stewardship is about sustainability.
Sustainability requires less force and more flow.

When you let go, it doesn’t mean you stop caring. It doesn’t mean not working and being intentional. It means diligently working within your scope of knowledge, ability and wisdom within your current limits.

Forcing things, especially for an extended period, causes us to operate outside our natural limits. Not honoring our God-given limits is violence to the soul.

Good stewardship is about diligently cultivating what I have and trusting that everything else will happen when needed. That is uncomfortable, but I’m finding it more sustainable and enjoyable.

Want to build from rest? Be diligent in cultivating what you have. And let go.

What about you? What are you trying to force or control that is exhausting you? Are you open to trying something else?

Much love,

Chris

How Would You Rate This Email?

I want to hear from you ;) Just click below.

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Reply

or to participate.