How Much Time Do You Have Left?

Life is too short

I woke up Monday morning to a message from a friend.

“Did you hear about Kenneth?”

Immediately, I felt a sinking feeling in my gut.

Kenneth passed away unexpectedly.

He was only 42 years old (my age).

Just a couple of months ago, he posted about how he would live well into his 70’s.

He was such a sweetheart, kind, and compassionate person.

It’s sad that there was so much more life he had to live.

This email is partly in honor of Kenneth.

Second, to remind us all to “remember death,” as the stoics would say.

Momento Mori, “Remember death.” Life is fragile, my friends.

As I’ve thought about Kenneth’s life and my own and how I’m living…

Here are a few things I’ve been pondering this week.

  1. Life is too short to worry about things that don’t really matter.

  2. Do what’s important to you and your family.

  3. Live a full life now; don’t wait.

  4. Recognize how PRECIOUS today is.

  5. You’re sovereign. Life is yours to cultivate.

I’ve also been thinking about:

The Death Bed Test

It’s this, “I wish I had spent more time….”

  • loving

  • curiosity

  • kindness

  • serving

  • family

  • creating

  • forgiving

  • exploring

  • learning

  • _________?

When I look back on my life, what would have spent less (or no) time

  • worrying

  • angry

  • disappointed

  • dissatisfied

  • social media

  • waiting

  • slothful

  • busy

  • ________?

Learning how to live in the present and cherish what we have, the people, the memories, and the gifts is one of the greatest gifts we can give ourselves in living a full and meaningful life.

One of the things Kenneth shared with me was the art of Kintsugi. It’s the Japanese art of breaking pottery and piecing it back together with gold, silver, or platinum.

Kenneth was Asian, so of course, he’s dropping some wisdom with an Asian art craft.

The idea is we often look at ourselves and the parts of us that are broken and don’t realize how much beauty can come from that.

Thanks, Kenneth.

I’m going to miss you. ♥️ 

Life is too short, my friends. Live it to the fullest.

In your corner,

Chris

How Would You Rate This Email?

I want to hear from you ;) Just click below.

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Reply

or to participate.