The (real) purpose of your business

It's not what you think

In January 2016, I found myself at this cozy little restaurant in Mooresville, NC.

It was the type of place that had been around forever.

That Friday night was special.

As Missy and I settled into the table, glancing over the menu. The hustle and bustle of the restaurant didn't seem to bother us because of the occasion.

I was on top of the world.

This kid who grew up in rural Virginia with barely anything to shake a stick at just had his first six-figure month!

I chased that hard, but my belief (leading up that point) that I would get there was shallow.

Of course, the happiness only lasted a day or so. Then, it was all about hitting that next high.

Unfortunately, in February, we dropped substantially, thus confirming my thoughts this was a fluke.

We popped back up in March 2016 (thank God) and put more coal on the fire.

One thing was for sure. This freight train wasn't going to stop—high or hell water. I'd give my life to make the most money I could.

That was THE purpose.

So-I-thought.

That's all I knew. If you're going to be "successful," you will make more money than the next guy.

That was my purpose until I couldn't go any faster or higher.

At the time, I didn't know that what I was doing was attempting to fill the holes in my soul.

My own experience (and research) have shown me that sustainable joy is not directly related to money.

Sure, you can create happiness from money. I was thrilled flying private.

It's an internal business that correlates to sustainable joy and happiness—that which doesn't require more money or more things.

Here's the rat race we as entrepreneurs often find ourselves in.

Chase, more money and things, increase status, find it doesn't sustain our joy and happiness, then chase more things.

It's the flywheel of deceived success.

In a Gallup study, however, there was a direct correlation between meaning and sustained happiness.

There is something visceral about contributing to our fellow humans.

So here are my thoughts for this week...

What is the real purpose of your business?

To love and serve others well. You and your business have contributions that can enrich your "neighbor," and that, my friend, is the aim.

The byproduct of that focus and mission often can turn into something lucrative. But if we have it flipped upside down, it can get gross for everybody involved.

If our priority is to make as much profit as possible (greed), we will continuously operate from scarcity no matter what we have.

If our priority is to give as much as possible, then we operate from abundance, and our decisions are different.

Now, I don't have this all completely sorted out. I know when my mindset is on others and how to serve them, it changes everything from how I feel to how I show up.

Greedy person: always takes (from scarcity)
Giving person: always gives (from abundance)

This is stewardship. It’s our choice.

So here are the questions that I'm asking.

What do I have to give?
Who do I give it to?

The other cool thing about this is that we are far more apt to honor our limits. Honoring our limits means sustainability.

Let me be clear. I've been a greedy gumdrop.

It all came from a place of fear, scarcity, and insecurity.

“I have an iron will, and all of my will has always been to conquer some horrible feeling of inadequacy… I push past one spell of it and discover myself as a special human being and then I get to another stage and think I’m mediocre and uninteresting… Again and again, my drive in life is from this horrible fear of being mediocre. And that’s always pushing me, pushing me. Because even though I’ve become Somebody, I still have to prove that I’m Somebody. My struggle has never ended and it probably never will.”

Madonna

I want to be a giver. That's my aim, and dayum, does it feel so good? It gives me life. It's almost like a clean energy that feels aligned in every way.

There is zero cognitive dissonance in being a giver.

That's my word for the week.

What do you think?

Thanks to everyone who responded to last week’s email.

Much love,

C

How Would You Rate This Email?

I want to hear from you ;) Just click below.

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Reply

or to participate.