Strategies to Not Worry

What to do when...

Do you worry?

Congrats, you’re human. 😁 

When I do a deep dive with a client, I survey them. Every single one has said they worry about their business.

If you worry about your business (or life), know that you are not alone.

I worry.

My goal today is to give you some strategies to implement to help you NOT worry about your business. Or help you worry less.

“It’s not things that upset us; it’s our opinions about things.” - Epictetus.

“He who suffers before it is necessary suffers before it is necessary.” - Seneca.

“Today, I escaped my anxiety, or no, I discarded it. Because it was within me.” - Marcus Aurelius.

Worry comes from an internal story or perspective that we tell ourselves. It could be true. If so, we need to problem-solve. Many times, it’s not, and if so, we need to shift our thinking.

Know this about worry:

  1. Worry is imagining a future negative outcome.

  2. Worry is something that you choose to do (consciously or subconsciously).

  3. Worry doesn’t give us control of scenarios (though we think it does).

  4. Worry can be controlled by you.

  5. Worry can become an addiction.

Here Are 6 Tips To Help You Stop Worrying

1 - Schedule “worry time.”

Put on your calendar a time to worry. Sit down without distractions with pen and paper and write out and answer these questions:

- What am I worried about?
- Why am I worried about that thing?
- Is this worry a reality or a lack of clarity?
- What’s the real problem?
- What are the steps I need to take to solve the problem?

Much of our worry comes from a lack of clarity.

Rumination: the action of chewing the cud. I love that definition. 😆 So we need to “spit it out.” Ruminating on something over and over tied to a worry doesn’t benefit us unless we:

1. Face it head on
2. Face the brutal fact
3. Problem solve
4. Take action-oriented steps

2 - Become Conscious

Discover what you’re thinking AND what you’re feeling.

Capture your thoughts and make them subject. Direct your thoughts to something productive.

If the subconscious worries and ruminates, a swirl going on internally needs to be changed.

After going through the process above, take a moment and consciously FOCUS on something else.

Often times I’ll quote a Psalm (Ps. 23 is a go-to) or scripture. I’ll stop and breathe and get awareness.

3 - Verbalize and Visualize

Talk to yourself. It’s good, not weird. “Hey Chris, I know you’re worried. What are you worried about.” Just getting awareness and revealing the “monster-in-the-closet” will often help diminish the worry.

Use your imagination to get familiar with the scenario through visualization. There is so much science behind the power of visualization. You can also use visualization to take you “somewhere else.” Sometimes I’ll visualize fishing in the beautiful mountains of NC.

“Imagination creates reality.”

Richard Wagner

4 - Rewire

Our brains were created to change.

If we operate by unhealthy patterns of thinking, they need to be consciously rewired.

If we worry consistently, then worry is a program in our brain that needs to be rewired. This is why the Bible says, “Be transformed by the renewal of your mind.”

Transformation is a process. If we’re doing the same things when it comes to our worry, we’ll continue to worry.

Your imagination is a wonder. With your imagination, you can scientifically rewire the brain.

5 - Practice

When worry is a habit, it takes practicing (the above) to create new habits and rewire the brain.

Be patient with yourself.
Don’t judge.
Don’t be hard.

It’s funny about humans that we can worry about being worried. 😅 

One step at a time. ❤️ 

6 - Weaponize Gratitude

I’ve found true gratitude to be enormously powerful in squelching negativity. Imagine gratitude as a weapon you can pull out at any moment. That’s what it is.

When you’re feeling worried and have sourced it proactively, then stop and think about it and express gratitude for something you appreciate. It can be small or big. Your choice.

Is what you’re worried about within your control?
Concern yourself with what you can control.
Take steps to solve it.
Be kind to yourself in that process.
Time will be your ally.

I can not control the FTC and what they want from me. However, I can control my response. My response? I’m choosing to accept the situation, let go of the money, and move on with my life.

Does it suck? Yea. But it will suck more if I let it. 😊 

Here’s to your courage,

Chris

How Would You Rate This Email?

I want to hear from you ;) Just click below.

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Join the conversation

or to participate.