How To Be Successful

This could change everything

The Thought: I think success is a mostly choice not an achievement.

The Context: How we define success is crucial. So much of our lives we’re trying to keep up with what others deem important and haven’t taken the time to figure what is really important for us.

When we figure this out and align ourselves with it life gets better.

Most of the truly important things in life aren’t the things that can be bought.

Rather, they are the things that we receive, give and cultivate.

So how we define success for ourselves is a paramount thing.

This topic is multi-dimensional. I have to qualify that because I think there is a lot of value in setting goals and going after things.

I have attached too much value in the past to things that at the end of the day weren’t all that important and without the right wisdom can be lost.

I think the crucial thing to consider is the WHY we go after achievement and “success”.

I believe this frame is really important because of how much effort we put into achieving things that we think other people will find valuable enough to give us what is already free. Love.

DEFINING SUCCESS RIGHTLY - is the start…

I think success is having love, joy, peace and contentment. That’s the foundation for everything. I sound like a hippie right now. 😂 

It’s having a healthy relationship with God and with myself. Because nothing achieved will ever fill that if it’s broken.

You see it with really “successful” people more often than not. They everything everything but really nothing. Empty.

Then, it’s having a healthy family. A vibrant marriage and relationship with my kids IS success.

If I’ve sacrificed my relationship with myself, God and my family to get all the money, jets, cars, Rolex’s, accolades, businesses, etc in the world is that success? I don’t believe so.

DEFINE VALUES to DETERMINE SUCCESS

Determining what we value is important in defining what is success for us.

What do you value, my friend?

I’ve had money, big businesses, accolades and those things are fun. But they’re not everything. And without the right boundaries can actually be dangerous.

I value having peace, joy, contentment (incase that wasn’t obvious 🤣).

I value having a healthy marriage.

I value my relationship with God and my spiritual development.

I value my kids and who they’re becoming.

I value my close friendships.

I value having margin in my life.

I value doing what I love.

I value being authentic, honest and helping people.

ALL those things I can decide on and choose.

Nothing to “achieve” to make me feel better.

I put value on money and things just not as high as it used to be.

When I start to go down a path that isn’t parallel to those values it’s not the right path for me so having my values will help me course correct.

Operating from MY INTERNAL values verses others’ EXTERNAL values is much more enjoyable.

I think this also helps with burn out.

I’ve found a lot of burnout comes from doing things we’re not aligned with (values).

So getting clarity on what we value and aligning ourselves with that is the right track for longevity.

That’s it for today.

Did this hit for you? Lemme know below! 😄 

Here’s to your success,

Chris

How Would Rate This Email?

Click which applies to you...

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Reply

or to participate.