I need to be open...

Lessons I'm Learning

I’m a recovering perfectionist.

I don’t like being vulnerable.

I don’t like putting myself out there.

But it’s necessary.

In the first issue of this newsletter, I talked about my journey of “learning in public.”

I want to share some things I’ve been testing and let you know how it’s going.

I hope this will inspire you.

After building big businesses, I’m doing things a lot differently. I want more agility. I want A LOT of leverage.

I’m getting that leverage by building:

  1. Greater Distribution

  2. Diversifying Acquisition Channels (from the get-go)

There are two things that I’ve been experimenting with I’ll update you on today.

The first thing is outbound.

I’ve been testing outbound with a team of two people and an app to track the pipeline.

I was talking to Alex Hormozi about this probably two years ago, and then the guy who built this out for Sales Force. 

So it’s something I’ve been interested in for a while. This is the first time i’m testing.

At the end of Sept., I’ll be about three months into this process, and the numbers are impressive (from an ROI standpoint).

Outbound

  • A Few Lessons:

    • There is a lot of opportunity here because people sleep on outreach. Some people have weird emotions about it.

    • “Ethical” Outbound is going to be a part of the future. The reason is that there is so much noise, and people are distracted. Combine great marketing, brand, value contribution, and outbound, and I think you’ll win and be in the game for the long haul.

    • It multi-dimensionalizes a business.

    • It takes time to dial in messaging that will connect.

    • I would say that the offer (type) is essential. If you can get an offer to work via outbound, it’ll work with any sales process. Service-based offers have a shorter sales cycle.

    • Protect the brand. Having the wrong people manage outbound for you won’t be good long-term.

    • Having said that, when you’re innovating and testing new things, you’ll piss people off. That’s okay.

    • You can serve people through outbound. My team (and I) get to interact and serve people in messenger because that’s what we value.

    • Outbound is slower than I’m used to. Slow is the story of my life. 😆 

Right now, our only outbound is to my friends list on FB. It’s been a high ROI activity on a fairly low-priced offer. Add in ongoing work with me? I’ve not seen an ROI like this before.

So I’m happy if people poopoo outbound. 😆 

I’m so intrigued by the power and potential of outbound that I might be building that out as a service or consulting on “how to.” More soon.

Social Growth

As I said, one of the things I want to achieve is personal brand distribution. My previous business was built primarily on the back of paid ads.

Paid ads are quick, but how sustainable? I have many thoughts on that; maybe I’ll share them later.

Organic is the better long-term play. This means social and SEO. I’m only putting effort into social right now.

I’m figuring out what platforms I want to lean into.

  • A Few Lessons:

    • Organic growth is tactically different for each platform, but there can be exponential growth when you figure it out.

    • Instagram: it’s all about reels + trending topics.

    • LinkedIn: quality carousels work well.

    • Facebook: sucks (haha)

    • LinkedIn might be the best opportunity. Engagement is a lot easier to get, and there are a lot of high-quality prospects on LinkedIn. There aren’t enough creators for the attention (so it seems).

    • Impressions come by:

      • Early and consistent engagement on posts.

      • Shareable and likable content (content that is valuable to the ideal audience).

      • Virality is more achievable from broad content.

Learning in public means having a desired NorthStar and then, as efficiently as possible, trying things that will help you get there. And be okay with people seeing the work.

Ego Will Hold You Back

There is atomic power in the ability to try something and not be afraid of the inevitable failure that happens in the process.

I’m trying all kinds of things that don’t work, suck, or I must “process” through. Some days I’m like, “Let’s gooo”. Other days I’m like, “this sucks.”

90% action
10% strategy

Ego doesn’t always like action.

Human fundamentals will never change. The tactics, technology, and sophistication are changing quickly. That’s why it’s best to stay an amateur (like everybody else) and try things.

Your desire to have things perfect will keep you in failure-to-launch.

Social content? Launch and iterate.
Email list? Launch and iterate.
New offer? Launch and iterate.
__________? Launch and iterate.

If you’ve been waiting to put something out until…, here’s what you need to do:

  1. Commit

  2. Get accountable

  3. Take action

  4. Iterate

  5. Go again



What are you waiting on? Join me, and let’s learn in public together. 😃 

Chris

Do you like seeing my various learning lessons? Want me to dive deeper? Let me know.

How Would You Rate This Email?

I want to hear from you ;) Just click below.

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

P.S. The fishing trip was a success with Pops. The highlight for me was the wild brown trout I caught. As asked (by some), here are a few pics!

Reply

or to participate.